• Mobile device use while driving could cost you in Arizona
  • Distracted driving caused around 9,200 accidents in 2021
  • How Arizona's Hands-Off Law fines distracted drivers

Many years ago, cell phone companies charged their users data fees. The more text messages or phone calls you got, the more expensive your bill would be.

These days, mobile phone companies charge a flat rate, but can you imagine paying $75 for a text message? What about $149 to make a call?

Do you need to check your social media? Is $250 too much to pay for that privilege?

Distracted driving will cost you big time in Arizona
Using your mobile device while driving could cost you big time in Arizona. // Canva

READ: Arizona Drivers Encouraged To Obtain REAL ID For Seamless Travel

Your mobile carrier may not charge that much, but the state of Arizona might if you're caught distracting yourself with any of these things while you're behind the wheel.

The Cost of Distracted Driving in Arizona

According to the Arizona Department of Transportation, in 2021 around 9,200 accidents were reportedly caused by distracted driving.

K101 logo
Get our free mobile app

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) breaks it down like this: nine people in the U.S. are killed every day as a result of crashes due to a distracted driver.

Distracted driving will cost you big time in Arizona
In 2021, 9,200 accidents were caused by distracted driving. // Canva

Arizona’s Road to Safety: The Hands-Off Law

Arizona is taking this serious issue into its own hands, so to speak. Law enforcement across the state advise drivers to stop multitasking behind the wheel. If you're caught, you'll have to cough up some serious cash.

What is Arizona's Hands-Off Law?

Arizona’s Hands-Off Lawcalls for drivers to disconnect from all digital distractions and get that attention back on the road.

If a police officer sees a mobile device in your hands while driving, he can pull you over and issue a ticket. Mobile device usage is now a primary offense in Arizona.

READ: Is Driving Barefoot Illegal in Arizona?

Distracted driving will cost you big time in Arizona
Distracted driving is a primary offense in Arizona. // Canva

In years past, the law considered device use a secondary offense, which meant you had to be pulled over for another reason, like speeding, before getting a ticket for mobile phone usage.

Answering a Text Message While Driving Could Cost You Big Money

Here's what it will cost you if you're cited for distracted driving in Arizona:

  • First offense: $75 to $149
  • Second offense: $150 to $250

Law enforcement in Arizona is about to cast a wide net with their upcoming distracted driving detail.

Distracted driving will cost you big time in Arizona
Don't get caught distracted driving. Stow your phone safely away until you reach your destination. // Canva

Don't get caught in the legal net—stow your phone safely away while you're driving or be prepared to pay big bucks. It’s a financial reminder that safety isn’t just a suggestion—it’s the law.

Arizona Chapter National Safety Council | Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT)Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) | AZLeg.org ]

LOOK: Best scenic drives in Arizona

It's time to hit the road—Stacker compiled a list of the best scenic drives in Arizona using data from Tripadvisor as of March 2024.

Gallery Credit: Stacker

Absolutely Absurd Laws You're Probably Breaking in Arizona, Right Now

Nobody wants to break the law. These insane laws in Arizona may make that tough.

Gallery Credit: Tim Gray

More From K101